Gorkha Heritage Trek

The hiking trail

Our project GORKHA HERITAGE TREK is part of a rebuilding aid program after the earthquake of April 2015 in the Gorkha region.  The local participants received financial and logistical help as support. New sources of income and work were generated for the local population. Not just those directly involved profited, but also their neighbors, who could sell agricultural products and souvenirs. Nepalmed is actively involved in the redevelopment of the trail and the protection of the environment by training the participants.

The GHT offers you:

  • Hiking in nature, off the worn tourist tracks
  • Breathtaking views of Annapurna and Manaslu
  • Numerous cultural sights
  • Day-tours in comfortable walking time (3 – 7 h) at moderate heights (500 – 2,000 m), which makes the trail suitable for less experienced hikers 
  • Accommodation with local families for an authentic insight into Nepalese rural life 
  • Hiking in small groups for a familial atmosphere

Your support enables protection against rural exodus.

Day 1: Turture – Tatipokhari – Amppipal: Start at approx. 500 m altitude, walking time 6 – 7 h, 15 km. Predominantly uphill until reaching Amppipal Hospital, overnight accommodation with local families, potentially in the Hospital’s guesthouse.
Day 2: Amppipal – Ligligkot: Start at approx. 1,000 m altitude, walking time 3 – 4 h, 5 km. There is an opportunity to explore the Hospital and to climb the historic Ligligkot mountain (1,450 m). The magnificent all-round view rewards the effort! 
Day 3: Amppipal – Harmi – Thalajung: Start at approx. 1,000 m altitude, walking time 6 – 7 h, 13 km. The most strenous part of the trek is downhill to Harmi, followed by a long steep ascent to Thalajung. Overnight stays are possible with local Gurung families.
Day 4: Thalajung – Chhoprak: Start at approx. 1,000 m altitude, walking time 6 – 7 h, 13 km. Short ascent to the Siransokot with a wide panoramic view. A small temple and the ruins of historical buildings can be visited here. Downhill to Chhoprak through dense jungle, in which all kinds of wild animals and typical flora can be found. An overnight stay
is possible at a local lodge.
Day 5: Chhoprak -Gorkha: Start at approx. 1,000 m altitude, walking time 6 – 7 h, 13 km. The trek continues downhill to Surkate on the Daraudi River. Here follows the ascent to Gorkha, the ancestral seat of the former Nepalese royal family.

Images of the Gorkha Heritage Trek

More information and booking via Dawa Sherpa

http://asianalpinetreks.com/trek/gorkha-heritage-trek/

Flyer Gorkha Heritage Trek: GHT English

Article by Dr. Birgit Kirsch about the Gorhka Heritage Trek in the newspaper Nepal-Information (issue 115): Article (German)

Gorkha Heritage Trek

Der Wanderweg

Unser Projekt GORKHA HERITAGE TREK ist Teil eines Programms zur Wiederaufbauhilfe nach dem Erdbeben vom April 2015 in der Gorkha Region. Zur Unterstützung erhielten die einheimischen Beteiligten finanzielle und logistische Hilfe. Für die lokale Bevölkerung wurden neue Einkommensquellen und Arbeitsmöglichkeiten generiert. Nicht nur die unmittelbar Beteiligten profitieren, sondern auch deren Nachbarn, die ihre landwirtschaftlichen Produkte und Souvenirs verkaufen können. Nepalmed setzt sich aktiv für die Instandsetzung der Wege und den Umweltschutz durch Training der Beteiligten ein.

Der GHT bietet Ihnen: 

  • Wandern in der Natur, abseits touristischer Trampelpfade 
  • Atemberaubende Fernsichten auf Annapurna und Manaslu
  • Zahlreiche kulturelle Sehenswürdigkeiten
  • Tagestouren in angenehmer Gehzeitlänge (3 bis 7 h) in mäßigen Höhen (zwischen 500 und 2.000 m), er eignet sich daher auch für weniger geübte Trekker
  • Unterbringung bei einheimischen Familien ermöglicht einen authentischen Einblick in das nepalesische Landleben
  • Wandern in kleinen Gruppen in familiärer Atmosphäre

Sie unterstützen damit ein Projekt gegen Landflucht.

1. Tag: Turture – Tatipokhari – Amppipal: Start auf ca. 500 m Höhe, Gehzeit 6 – 7 h, 15 km. Vorwiegend bergauf laufend erreichen Sie das Amppipal Hospital, Übernachtung bei einheimischen Familien, ggf. im Hospital-Gästehaus.
2. Tag: Amppipal – Ligligkot: Start auf ca. 1.000 m Höhe, Gehzeit 3 – 4 h, 5 km. Es ist Gelegenheit, das Hospital zu erkunden sowie den geschichtsträchtigen Hausberg Ligligkot (1.450 m) zu besteigen, die grandiose Rundumsicht belohnt die Mühe! 
3. Tag: Amppipal – Harmi – Thalajung: Start auf ca. 1.000 m Höhe, Gehzeit 6 – 7 h, 13 km. Der anstrengendste Teil des Treks bergab nach Harmi, dann folgt ein langer steiler Anstieg bis Thalajung. Übernachtung ist bei einheimischen Gurung-Familien möglich.
4. Tag: Thalajung – Chhoprak: Start auf ca. 1.000 m Höhe, Gehzeit 6 – 7 h, 13 km. Kurzer Aufstieg auf den Siransokot mit weitem Rundumblick. Hier können ein kleiner Tempel sowie die Ruinen historischer Gebäude besichtigt werden. Durch dichten Dschungel, in dem allerlei Wildtiere und typische Flora zu finden sind, geht es bergab bis Chhoprak. Übernachtung
ist in einer örtlichen Lodge möglich.
5. Tag: Chhoprak -Gorkha: Start auf ca. 1.000 m Höhe, Gehzeit 6 – 7 h, 13 km. Weiter geht es bergab nach Surkate am Fluss Daraudi. Hier folgt der Aufstieg nach Gorkha, dem Stammsitz des ehemaligen nepalesischen Königshauses. 

Bilder des Gorkha Heritage Trek

Mehr Informationen und Buchung über Dawa Sherpa

http://asianalpinetreks.com/trek/gorkha-heritage-trek/

Flyer Gorkha Heritage Trek: GHT Deutsch

Beitrag von Dr. Birgit Kirsch über den Gorhka Heritage Trek in der Zeitung Nepal-Information (Ausgabe 115): Artikel.